study abroad adventure

Photojournaling and blogging study abroad adventures…

Tit for Tat

According to one site: http://www.romaniatourism.com/practical-information.html, 

Exchange rates** for foreign currencies, valid on May 18-20, 2013:

one US dollar = 3.37 Lei (3 lei and 37 bani)
one Canadian dollar = 3.30 Lei (3 lei and 30 bani)
one British Pound = 5.13 Lei (5 lei and 13 bani)
one Australian dollar = 3.28 Lei (3 lei and 28 bani)
one Euro = 4.34 Lei (4 lei and 34 bani

Product/service Price – lei
(U.S. $ equivalent)*
Foods & Drinks
Loaf of white bread
(one lb.)
$ 0.30
Quart of milk $ 1.4
One lb of beef tenderloin $ 3.50
One lb of tomatoes $ 2
McDonald’s Big Mac $ 3.5
Bottle of mineral water
(18 fl.oz.)
$ 0.8
Bottle of domestic beer
(18 fl.oz.)
$ 1.4
Bottle of Romanian wine
(liquor store)
$ 4.00 to $ 8.50
Transportation
Bus ticket – Bucharest
(one trip)
$ 0.6
Subway ticket – Bucharest
(round trip)
$ 1
Train ticket Bucharest to Brasov
(express train, 1st class)
$ 16.50
Train ticket Bucharest to Constanta
(express train, 1st class)
$ 18.50
Train ticket Bucharest to Cluj
(express train, 1st class)
$ 24.00
One gallon of gasoline
(3.8 liters)
$ 6.3
Entertainment & Communication
Best opera/ theatre seat $ 25.00 or less
Use of computer at Internet Cafe $ 1.8 / hour

Looks like I’ll be drinking bottled water and bread my whole trip! 🙂 JK  At least it will be less expensive per day than my honeymoon which was spent in British Pounds and Euros.  But I am seriously considering buying the Rail Pass for Romania as I work out my plan for 7 days as a tourist once my study abroad is over.  I’m very excited!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Tit for Tat

  1. beer seems kinda cheap. beer, water, and bread. Not a bad trip

    • Yes it does! I do look forward to trying new beers as I am already a fan of most Romanian wines (imported, of course). I am sure I will look like a drunkard to my colleagues drinking wine or beer with every meal just so I can taste them all. 🙂

  2. Make sure you get the right trains: they are usually not very different in terms of comfort and time in which they complete a ride (try to stay away from “Regio” trains though, but the prices can vary a lot. Also, sometimes a faster train will make a huge detour, so it won’t be faster than a slower one.

    Sometimes trains can be late.

    I don’t mean to creep you out or anything, but I would also not recommend traveling by night.

    I know I’m not painting a nice picture, but I’m just saying the bad parts so don’t have to discover them.

    • Thanks so much! When I traveled throughout the U.K. and Europe (London, Utrecht, Berlin, Paris, Barcelona) we always took the night trains to sleep on. Now I know not to do that. It will cut my trip in more than half. Hm. I’m going to take your advice while I plan out my time there.

      • I don’t want to be responsible for you cutting your trip in half, I was saying that because I have never had a good time on night trains in Ro, even if they were International trains. There are things that can happen and as a foreigner you are a target for potential not-so-model-citizens.

        I know that in the West it’s a completely different concept of “night train” and security. It could be OK though, I just wrote what I would advise you. 🙂

      • Well, I’m better safe than sorry so I’m happy to accept the suggestions and advice of those who live and travel there. 🙂

  3. Also, by the way, $17 for a train ticket from Bucharest to Brasov is kind of expensive. The difference between 1st class and 2nd class is small but prices vary.

    There’s also this company, which is a private train company
    http://www.regiotrans.ro/

    I guess you can get a train ticket from B to BV for like $6 or so, but from what I know they only have one train/day. Anyway, good luck!

Leave a Reply

